1. Home
  2.  / It's Your Time To Shine

It's Your Time To Shine

Two prestigious awards are open to all members of New Zealand Property Investors Federation, as Sharon Cullwick explains.

By: Sharon Cullwick

1 April 2021

The New Zealand Property Investors Federation (NZPIF) is again honoured to have partnered with Resene and Ministry of Building, Innovation and Employment to offer two prestigious awards which will be presented at the upcoming NZPIF Conference in Wellington in October 2021.

Both awards are open to current members of one of the 18 Property Investors Associations affiliated to NZPIF.

NZPIF/Resene Renovation of the Year is open to all members who have completed a renovation on a property or properties in New Zealand between 2019 and 2021. Applicants must have used Resene colours and Resene paints/stains and coatings in their renovation projects. Judging will focus on both the structural and decorating work of the completed renovation. Applicants are required to supply before and after photos of the project to demonstrate the transformation that has been achieved.

The second award, in association with the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment is for the Landlord of the Year. This is an award for a landlord who represents a high standard and who builds positive relationships with tenants. Compliance with the Residential Tenancies Act and the Healthy Homes legislation is also an important criteria. This award, now in its 12th year, will be awarded to a landlord who goes beyond what is normally required of a landlord to run their business successfully.

The competition is judged by a panel of property investors and a Tenancy Services representative. This award is open to self-managing landlords who manage at least one property in their portfolio.

The winners of this award in 2008, Andrea and Andrew Elliott, are members of the Otago PIA, and their portfolio was made up of properties in Invercargill and Dunedin. In three of the following years, the winners have also come from Dunedin, but there have also been winners from Rotorua, Hamilton, Palmerston North, Nelson, Tīmaru, Invercargill, Hastings and New Plymouth.

These past winners have been successful in running their portfolios as businesses, using excellent systems and processes. The confidence gained from winning the award has helped them build their portfolios further and increase the number of families for whom they are able to proudly provide rental homes.

Both awards give the winners the kudos of being the best they can be in= an industry they are passionate about. Other Associations often invite individual winners to present at their own meetings and share that passion, encouraging others to enter. Speaking about their own experience, winners often stress that going through the application process has benefited them personally and prompted a close examination of the path they have taken so far. This has been very beneficial in determining their future aims and objectives. video in which three winners talk about these benefits is on the NZPIF website under the menu heading About Us. The video is called “Benefits of entering Landlord of the Year” and is well worth watching.

It is fitting that both awards are announced in front of an audience of fellow property investors at the NZPIF Conference Gala Dinner this year in Wellington on the October 16, 2021. Entries for both awards close on August 6, 2021. More details can be found on the New Zealand Property Investors’ Federation web site www.nzpif.org.nz


Related Articles